Edgar County 4-H’ers excel at state fair


SPRINGFIELD – Edgar County was well represented at the Illinois State Fair with 40 local 4-H members exhibiting livestock and general projects. Several Edgar County 4-H’ers were award winners in their divisions.

Local youth placing in the 4-H Jr. Livestock Division included: Tucker Marrs, crossbred steer third place and Charolais heifer 2nd place; Hunter Dunlap, Chester white barrow 3rd place, Hampshire barrow 3rd place, crossbred gilt 1st place, spot gilt 3rd place; Olivia Heltsley, Yorkshire gilt 3rd place; Marissa Morrisey, Duroc barrow 1st place; Paedyn Keys, spot gilt 1st place, crossbred gilt 1st place, crossbred barrow 2nd place; Cole Webster, AOB gilt 1st place and Jr. Champion, Poland China gilt 1st place and Jr. Champion; Kyle Webster, AOB gilt 1st place, Overall AOB gilt 4th place, Duroc gilt 1st place and reserve, breeding gilt 5th overall, Chester white gilt 2nd place, and 3rd overall master showman; Hallee Rhoads, champion and 1st place Hampshire gilt, Duroc gilt 3rd place, Yorkshire gilt 2nd place and reserve, reserve champion overall, Crossbred gilt 3rd place; Bryan Kohlmeyer, AOB gilt 3rd place; Dawson Watson, Duroc gilt 2nd and 3rd places; Chayse Martin, spot gilt 3rd place; Trent Gross, spot gilt 2nd place; Chris Ellis, purebred training class 2 or 3 year old mare/gelding 1st place, conference stock horse type 2-3 year old gelding any age 1st place, English or Western 2 or 3 year old training class 1st place, English or Western egg & spoon horse/pony exhibitors age 17-21, 3rd place, conference stock horse Type 2-3 year old geldings over 56” 1st place.

These Edgar County 4-H’ers received outstanding ratings in general projects: Alison Cash, STEAM clothing 1; Betsy Cash, design decisions; Aidan Creech, photography 2; Kaylie Creech, photography 3; Kayla Cusick, STEAM clothing 3; Brookelyn Gough, cooking 101; Bryce Kohlmeyer, vegetable display; Bryan Kohlmeyer, vegetable display; Kendl Lemmon, visual arts glass/plastic; Paislee Lorenzen, design decisions; Mellie McCollough, heritage arts; Abigail Mood, visual arts fiber; Shae Payne, photography 1; Shelbie Pollard, STEAM clothing 1; Addyson Reel, cooking 201; and Emma Scott, nature.

Participant ribbons went to: Helen Butcher, woodworking 1; Brenden Cash, woodworking 2; Asher Dean, scrapbooking; Addilee Gill, animal science; Kylee Kleptz, veterinary science; Kymberley Klyaic, cooking 301; Cash Kuglin, visual arts paper; Maggie Milburn, food preservation; Emily Milburn, cooking 301; Anna Sullivan, food science; Ruth Sullivan, entomology; Gage Tingley, visual arts metal; Addison Wright, geology pebble pups; and Gage Wright, electricity 2.

General projects participants eligible for champion and reserve champion awards, plus the Inspire Award winners were: Helen Butcher, woodworking 1 reserve; Aidan Creech, photography 2 champion; Kaylie Creech, photography 3 Inspire Award; Bryce Kohlmeyer, vegetable display reserve; Kendl Lemmon, visual arts glass/plastic reserve; Abigail Mood, visual arts fiber champion; Addyson Reel, cooking 201 champion.