Local school boards facing changes with April election


New faces are guaranteed to come to the table for almost every school board in Edgar County following the April 2 election.

This is the election cycle when the boards have four members with expiring terms. The Illinois Consolidated election selects school board members, city mayors and councils, village trustees and township officials.

Chrisman Unit 6 is facing the biggest guaranteed turnover in seats. Incumbent board members Cory Chaney and Karen Webster are candidates for re-election, but fellow board members Mark Wyatt and Steve Lorenzen opted not to run.

One of the empty slots on the ballot is filled by Daren Craig. Nobody filed a petition for the fourth seat so when the board reorganizes in May that vacancy will be filled by an appointment.

Shiloh Unit 1 has a full-ballot of candidates with incumbents April Morris, Brian Rhode and David Smith seeking re-election. Board president Dana Hale’s term is also expiring, but he is not standing for re-election. Justin Wood, of Brocton, is on the ballot in his first run for the board of education.

Kansas Unit 3 has a situation similar to Shiloh’s with three of the four candidates being incumbents. Thad Brimner, Mark Eskew and Britta Baker are seeking another term, but board member Steve Pinnell is ending his career as a school board member. The fourth candidate for the Kansas BOE is Gabriel Boedecker.

Crestwood Unit 4 may have the dynamics of the board change in April. Incumbents Kit Kirby, Jarrod Dyer and Keith Trogden are seeking re-election, but current board member Paul Porter is bowing out at the end of his term. One of the challengers Johnathan McCarty or Brad Adams will definitely fill Porter’s empty chair, but there is also the possibility of unseating an incumbent.

Paris 95’s board may remain exactly as it is if voters return incumbents Kevin Knoepfel, Cindy Mathis, Amy Isaf and Steve Eitel for another four-year term. Voters could also unseat one or two established board members since new candidates Amy Hill and Troy Wilson are also on the ballot for school board.