State Scholars revealed


Several Edgar and Clark County seniors have been selected as Illinois State Scholars, according to an announcement made this week by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Illinois State Scholars are outstanding high school seniors who are recognized for their superior academic achievement. State Scholars rank in approximately the top 10 percent of graduates from Illinois high schools and are selected annually based on their ACT and SAT exams and sixth semester class rank.

Edgar County students selected are Matthew Brouwer, Drew Cearlock and Elizabeth Rouse, Paris High School and Sydney Quick from Chrisman High School.

In Clark County, students selected include Alyssa Decker, Paeton Hagen, Cortland Ross and AJ Stepina, Casey Westfield High School; Aubrey Hook, Martinsville High School; and Rachael Goekler, Jonathan Green, Jillian Hiatt, Patrick Morris, Hannah Myer, Andrew Powell, Braiden Shuck, Elijah Strode and Kamryn Titus, Marshall High School.

Each Illinois State Scholar receives a congratulatory letter from ISAC, a Certificate of Achievement and statewide recognition in traditional and social media outlets. Honorees can download an official Illinois State Scholar badge that can be displayed on their online profiles and social media platforms and shared with high school counselors, prospective colleges, employers, family members and others.

ISAC encourages all students, including State Scholars, to complete their 2020-21 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) as soon as possible. The FAFSA is used to determine a student’s eligibility for federal and most state and institutional financial aid available for postsecondary education, including two- or four-year degree programs, certificates, and vocational education.